Skip to main content

Unified School District of De Pere

District Profile / History

District Profile

The Unified School District of De Pere is comprised of the City of De Pere east of the Fox River, and parts of the towns of Bellevue, Glenmore, Ledgeview, Morrison, Rockland and Wrightstown. Total district enrollment exceeds 4300 students. Students are educated at Altmayer, Dickinson and Heritage elementary schools (grades K-4); Foxview Intermediate School (grades 5-6); De Pere Middle School (grades 7-8); and De Pere High School (grades 9-12). The District also offers a 4K program at Altmayer and Heritage elementary buildings; the High School (4K Learning Lab); and at community partner sites.

Schools of one kind or another have existed in De Pere since the early nineteenth century.  The first schools were informal and usually were taught by a local woman with enough education to teach her own and her neighbors' children in her home.  There were also itinerant teachers who traveled locally to give lessons.

In 1847 the De Pere School District was organized by the Town of De Pere (east of the Fox River) with the election of three school commissioners. In 1878 De Pere opened its first high school. In 1890 the City of De Pere annexed West De Pere (west of the Fox River) to form one city. However, each retained its own school district and the districts remain separate entities to this day. 

Source:  League of Women Voters of Greater Green Bay
Driving Directions